Vijayalaxmi Gadwal of TRS elected Hyderabad Mayor

Vijayalaxmi Gadwal
MLC K. Kavitha with Mayor Vijayalaxmi Gadwal and Deputy Mayor M Srilatha Reddy

Hyderabad: Banjara Hills corporator Vijayalaxmi R Gadwal of the TRS party has been elected Mayor of Hyderabad. She defeated BJP’s nominee RK Puram corporator Radha Reddy.

M. Srilatha Reddy, also of the TRS and the corporator from Tarnaka, was elected the Deputy Mayor. She defeated the BJP’s Shankar Yadav.Vijayalaxmi Gadwal of TRS elected Hyderabad Mayor

The MIM supported both the TRS nominees.

Earlier, the oath taking ceremony of the newly elected corporators of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) was completed with Presiding Officer Swetha Mohanthy conducting the proceedings. Election Observer Sandeep Kumar Sultania monitored the proceedings.

Following the appeal from Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party, the oath taking ceremony was conducted as a group and not for individual candidates. The same appeal was supported by MIM and BJP parties.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .