Telangana govt forms Cabinet Sub-committee on new Panchayat Raj Bill

File Photo of CM K Chandrashekhar Rao

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao on Sunday constituted a seven-member Cabinet Sub-Committee with Panchayat Raj Minister Jupally Krishna Rao as its Chairman for drafting Panchayat Raj Bill.

The State government is keen on introducing the proposed Bill in the Assembly at the earliest after the Cabinet Sub-Committee submitted its report.

The committee comprises Agriculture Minister Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, IT and Industries Minister KT Rama Rao, Housing Minister A Indrakaran Reddy, Finance Minister Etela Rajender, Roads & Buildings Minister Tummala Nageshwar Rao and Irrigation Minister T Harish Rao. The officials of Panchayat Raj Department are already working on preparing a draft report for scrutiny. The draft proposals and the rules of the proposed Act would be sent to the Chief Minister before introducing it in the Assembly.

The government has proposed to hold an exclusive session of the Assembly on the Panchayat Raj Bill this month. The new Bill is meant for  decentralisation of power and devolution of funds, which are being considered key in the rural development.

The Chief Minister had already declared that the new Bill was aimed at bringing reforms in the existing Panchayat Raj system for effective implementation of government welfare and development activities, besides ensuring adequate funds allocation for gram panchayats, mandal parishads and zilla parishads.