SREC students win big in Telangana Startup Yatra

Winning Students of SREC with Prof Papi Reddy, Chairman and Prof Venkataramana, Prof.  R.Limbadri, Vice Chairman’s of Telangana State Council for Higher Education, Sreedevi Devireddy (CEO,SRiX) and RaviDevulapally (VP-TBI, SRiX).

Warangal Urban: Three teams from the SR Engineering College (SREC) have emerged as the winners of the Telangana Startup Yatra. The Startup India Telangana Yatra was launched by the IT Minister, KT Rama Rao on September 15 with an objective to provide a platform for students and entrepreneurs in Tier II and III cities to present their innovation and help them realise their startup dreams. The programme was concluded on Thursday.

As part of the programme, the selected ideas got an opportunity to participate in the two-day acceleration programme that was held on October 3 and 4 in JNTU, Hyderabad. The acceleration programme was supported by various incubators namely T-Hub, SR Innovation Exchange (SRiX), A-idea of NAARM, Surge Impact and UoH-TBI. About 201 shortlisted ideas were pitched to the final jury panel out of which the top 10 winning ideas received a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each and the 10 runner-up teams got a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each. Also, the top 20 teams were given pre-incubation offers by multiple incubators.

Congratulating the three teams, SREC chairman A Varadha Reddy said, “Entrepreneurship culture in the campus has ignited these brains to design solutions for social problems and SRIX incubator would strengthen our activity more in the future.” “SR Innovation Exchange offered pre-incubation to all the 201 shortlisted ideas as we feel that every innovator is unique. The passion and the enthusiasm for Innovation was amazing, SRiX will provide them with all the support needed,” said Sreedevi Devireddy, CEO of SRiX.

“SREC is the only institution in the State with three ideas in top 10 startup ideas list; said center for entrepreneurship,” head Dr Suman Naredla. The teams which won are Rice Grain Dryer team (Adhi Keerthi, Kantanguri Shivani, Poladi Kalyan Reddy, Dubasi Madhava Murali Krishna,Bhukya Shalini ), Modern Live Switchboard team (Bangari Suraj Kumar, Bhukya Shalini), team SAGELY -water utility monitoring (Polneni Srividya, Mittapally Sandeep).