Saturday, June 19, 2021

Nizamabad (Urban) Assembly constituency profile

Nizamabad Market Yard is famous for turmeric, aamchure, paddy, maize, soya bean and other crops. Above 50 per cent turmeric exports from India are generated from Nizamabad Market yard alone. Apart from it paddy, maize and soya bean are also exported. Nizamabad Medical College, Giriraj Degree and PG College, and Kendriya Vidyalaya are located in this constituency. Neela Kanteshwar Aalayam, Shabuni Temple, Quilla Ramalayam, Nizamabad Quilla are other historic monuments here.

Nizamabad (Urban) Assembly constituency profile


Nizamabad Urban Assembly constituency was created in 2008. A 100 per cent urban constituency in Nizamabad district, it comprises Nizamabad (South) and Nizamabad (North) mandals. According to the 2018 draft electoral rolls, now there are 99,339 male voters, 1,00,002 female and 40 other voters — a total of 2,00,371 voters in Nizamabad Urban Assembly constituency.

Political history

Dharmapuri Srinivas was elected MLA from Nizamabad Assembly constituency on a Congress ticket in 1989, 1999 and 2004.

Election 2014

In the 2014 general elections, TRS’ Bigala Ganesh Gupta, who secured 42,148 votes, defeated Mir Mazar Ali Shaik of AIMIM (31,840 votes), BJP’s Dhanpal Suryanaraayana got 28,201 votes and Congress’ Bomma Mahesh Kumar Goud secured 25,742 votes. Gupta won the seat with a lead of 10,308 votes.

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -Nizamabad (Urban) Assembly constituency profile
Telangana Today