Saturday, June 19, 2021

Nizamabad Rural Assembly constituency profile

Before Nizamabad Rural Assembly constituency was formed in 2008, it was called Ditchpally Assembly constituency. It is part of the Nizamabad Parliamentary constituency and has seven mandals —Nizamabad Rural, Mopal, Jakranpally, Dharpally, Ditchpally, Sirikonda and Indalwai. Nizamabad Rural depends mainly on agriculture with the major crops cultivated being paddy, maize, turmeric, sugarcane and soya.


In 2014, the constituency had 2,24,396 voters in all, including 1,05,214 male, 1,19,168 female and 14 other voters. But, according to the 2018 daft publication of the voter list, it now has 98,043 male, 1,09,763 female and 15 other voters — a total of 2,07,823 voters. Compared to the 2014 general elections, there was a drop of 16,569 voters.

Political History

Earlier from this constituency former Minister and TDP candidate Mandava Venkateshwar Rao was elected five times in the 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999 and 2009 Assembly elections. In 2004, TRS’ Gaddam Gangareddy was elected.

2014 Elections

In the 2014 general elections, TRS candidate Bajireddi Goverdhan defeated Congress’s D Srinivas by a margin of 26,547 votes. Goverdhan Reddy secured 78,107 votes as against 51,560 by D Srinivas.

Nizamabad Rural Assembly constituency profile

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -Nizamabad Rural Assembly constituency profile
Telangana Today