Jana Reddy, an outdated leader: Jagadish Reddy

Jagadish Reddy
Energy Minister G Jagadish Reddy speaks at Haliya on Friday

Nalgonda: Describing Congress leader K Jana Reddy as an outdated leader, Energy Minister G Jagadish Reddy on Friday said the people of Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency would not support his candidature in the by-elections.

The Minister was speaking after welcoming about 800 BJP leaders and activists from different villages into the TRS fold at a programme held at Haliya.

Jagadish Reddy said that Jana Reddy did nothing for the development of Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency, and was hence facing stiff opposition from the people in the by-election to Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency. “The Congress has lost its existence in the country as well as in the State,” he said, adding that this would be proved in the by-poll again again.

Exuding confidence that TRS candidate Nomula Bhagath would win the by-election with a huge margin of votes, he said the public response to the election campaign of the TRS candidate was a clear indication of the outcome.

He said there was an anti-BJP wave in the country due to the decisions taken by the Narendra Modi government on privatisation of public sector units, anti-farmer laws and hike in prices of diesel and petrol. The voters of Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency will reject both Congress and BJP in the by-election, he added.

Minister for Animal Husbandry Talasani Srinivas Yadav said the opposition parties will lose their addresses after the Nagarjuna Sagar by-poll. “It is not possible for anyone to stop Bhagath’s victory,” he added.

TRS state general secretary Takeenapally Ravinder Rao said the opposition parties had lost hopes after Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao announced the candidature of Bhagath, son of late Nomula Narsimhaiah. He asked the people to vote for TRS candidate for development of their assembly constituency.

Bhagath said he will follow in the footsteps of his father on development of the constituency and welfare of the people.

TRS MLAs K Chander, Chirumarthi LIngaiah and Ravindra Kumar Naik also attended the programme.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .