Saturday, June 19, 2021

Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency profile

Hyderabad: Despite serious efforts made by national and regional parties to capture Hyderabad over the past three and half decades, the writ of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen continues to run in the Parliamentary constituency for long. MIM has won the seat in the eight successive Lok Sabha elections in the last three decades. Bharatiya Janata Party has been making repeated attempts since 1991 to wrest the seat from Majlis, but not successful so far.

Hyderabad parliamentary constituency comprises Malakpet, Karwan, Goshamahal, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Yakutpura and Bahadurpura Assembly segments. The Charminar, Yakutpura, Bahadurpura and Chandrayangutta segments are completely dominated by Muslims while Malakpet and Karwan too have a sizeable number of voters for the community. Only Goshamahal Assembly constituency has been dominated by Hindus and it was this lone Assembly seat that MIM lost in 2009 and it did not field any candidate in 2014.

It was in 1984 Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi scored a victory in Hyderabad parliamentary seat by trouncing the candidate of Telugu Desam Party-BJP alliance K Prabhakar Reddy by a narrow margin of 3,481 votes in a fiercely-fought election. Salahuddin Owaisi retained Hyderabad seat in keenly-fought elections in 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998 and 1999. Out of the six times that senior Owaisi won this seat, he defeated BJP candidates three times and the combined candidates of TDP-BJP alliance three times.

Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency profile

After Salahuddin Owaisi opted out of the electoral contest, his son Asaduddin Owaisi contested and won Hyderabad parliamentary seat in 2004 elections by defeating BJP rival by a majority of one lakh votes. In 2009 elections, Asaduddin Owaisi retained the seat, by inflicting a crushing defeat on TDP rival by a majority of 1.14 lakh votes. Incidentally, in 1996 elections, Salahuddin trounced BJP’s top State leader M Venkaiah Naidu by a majority of 73,273 votes.  BJP candidate Baddam Bal Reddy set a record by losing out three times to Salahuddin in 1991, 1998 and 1999.

Sultan’s successive victories in the constituency reflected the cohesion and consolidation of minorities by the AIMIM  leadership. In 1984, when Sultan Salahuddin wrested the Hyderabad seat, there were hardly 39 per cent minorities in the constituency. Owaisi’s votes soared from just around 2.22 lakh in 1984 to 4.86 lakh in 1998 whereas the rivals’ votes grew from 2.19 lakh in 1984 to 4.15 lakh in 1998.

During 1984-2004 elections, Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency consisted of seven Assembly segments —Tandur, Vikarabad and Chevella in Rangareddy district and Karwan, Charminar, Chandrayangutta and Yakutpura in Hyderabad district. After the delimitation in 2008, Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency comprises Malakpet, Yakutpura, Charminar, Chandrayangutta, Bahadurpura, Karwan and Goshamahal Assembly segments. With the delimitation, Hyderabad has become an all-urban constituency with virtual dominance of the minority voters.

One key reason for Majlis winning the Hyderabad parliamentary seat successively has been its presence in the four Assembly segments out of seven that made up this constituency from 1984 till 2004. Majlis has been winning three to four Assembly seats in Hyderabad parliamentary constituency. The MIM retained six of the seven Assembly constituencies it had contested (in Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency limits)  in December 2018. It won Malakpet (majority – 23,512), Kawrawan (Majority-50,602), Charminar (Majority-32,586) Chandrayangutta ( Majority- 80,264), Yakutpura ( majority-46978) and Bahadurpur  (Majority – 82,518).   BJP retained Goshamahal assembly constituency).


“Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana Today on WhatsApp everyday. Click this link to subscribe and save this number 9182563636 on your contacts.”

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency profile
Telangana Today