Gram sabhas to finalise cash transfer to Telangana ryots

Gram Sabhas
Cabinet Sub-committee members meet at Hyderabad on Monday

Hyderabad: The Cabinet sub-committee on ‘Investment support scheme’ has decided to hold gram sabhas and meetings with farmers and public representatives in a few select villages to elicit farmers’ opinion on the mode of money transfer under the scheme.

The committee members under the chairmanship of Agriculture Minister Pocharam Srinivas Reddy met here on Monday to explore modalities on the investment support scheme. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao had on Sunday constituted a Cabinet sub-committee in this regard to explore various options for the transfer of money to farmers under the scheme.

After the meeting, Agriculture Minister said the Rs 4,000 per acre, per crop scheme will be launched on May 15. “The Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao wanted the scheme to be implemented without any diversions to avoid farmers’ approaching banks and private moneylenders to purchase agricultural inputs during the commencement of crop season,” Srinivas Reddy said.

The Minister said after the land record purification drive, there was clarity under the category-A lands, where 71.75 lakh farmers were having clear accounts and based on the updated revenue records the amount will be given to the farmers.

TS role model

Reddy said the entire country was now looking towards Telangana for the implementation of novel schemes in the agriculture sector. Mentioning about the first meeting output, he said all the committee members had expressed their views in this regard. “There are huge apprehensions among the farmers that if money was directly credited into the farmers account there is a scope that bankers could adjust the amount for old dues,” the Minister said. The committee members also enquired with bankers and sought their opinion.

The bankers who were present at the meeting said they required some time to put forth their opinions. The committee has decided to meet again on January 10.

Cabinet sub-committee members KT Rama Rao, T Harish Rao, Tummala Nageshwar Rao, Etela Rajendar, Special Representative Rajiv Sharma, Agriculture Secretary C Parthasarathi, bankers and postal department officials participated in the meeting.