Acclaimed poet Gopi conferred with Dasarathi Sahiti Puraskar

Dasarathi Sahiti Puraskar granted to N Gopi in Ravindra Bharathi on Saturday.
Dasarathi Sahiti Puraskar granted to N Gopi in Ravindra Bharathi on Saturday.

Hyderabad: Noted poet and Sahitya Akademi awardee professor N Gopi has been conferred with the Telangana government’s Dasarathi Sahiti Puraskar marking the 93rd birth anniversary of Dasarathi, at Ravindra Bharati here on Saturday.

TS Assembly Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary and Council Chairman K Swamy Goud presented the award to Gopi at a function organised by Telangana State government.

The award recipient Gopi stated that he would proudly accept anything that is given in the name of Dasarathi. “He had written both romantic and inspirational poetry reflecting life and culture in Telangana districts. The Telangana government which came into being after a lot of struggle, is following the path of Dasarathi and honouring its poets as well as upholding its culture and literature,” he added.

Speaking on the occasion, Council Chairman K Swamy Goud recalled that Dasarathi’s famous line ‘Naa Telangana, Koti Ratanala Veena’ has become synonymous with the Telangana movement and imbibed confidence among many who were fighting for the separate State. “Poets and writers might not have directly taken part in Telangana movement, but they have fuelled it through their literature. Hence, the TS government has decided to honour them on the same stage where they were denied due respect in the undivided Andhra Pradesh,” he said.

Speaker S Madhusudhana Chary pointed out that Dasarathi wrote poetry which had a huge influence on the Telangana movement and Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao has decided to honour him by constituting an award to felicitate Telangana writers and poets every year. “At times when film industry looked down at writers/poets from Telangana, Dasarathi has proved that poets of Telangana were no less to anyone,” he stated.

Deputy Chief Minister and Revenue Minister Mahmood Ali, Tribal Welfare Minister Azmeera Chandulal, Telangana Samskrutika Saradhi chairperson Rasamayi Balakishan said the State government was honouring poets and writers to keep alive Telangana culture and traditions. They said that the award was being presented to renowned poets and writers for the last three consecutive years.

Telangana Sahitya Akademi Chairman Nandini Sidda Reddy, Cultural Advisor to Government KV Ramanachary, TS Official Language Commission president Devulapalli Prabhakar Rao, TS Granthalaya Samstha Chairman Sridhar, Telugu University Vice-Chancellor SV Satyanarayana, OSD to Chief Minister Desapathi Srinivas and others were present. On the occasion, Dasarathi’s son Lakshman was felicitated by the government.