India win toss, elects to bat in Bangalore Test

Representational Image

Bangalore: India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the second Test in Bangalore on Saturday.

The hosts, who lost their opening match inside three days in Pune last week, have made two changes to the starting lineup in a bid to keep their hopes alive in the four-match series.

Opener Abhinav Mukund replaces injured Murali Vijay while batsman Karun Nair, who scored a triple century in his last Test, comes in place of allrounder Jayant Yadav.

“Looks like a typical Bangalore wicket. Pretty good to bat on. The first three days should be good, but at the same time bowlers are always in play here,” Kohli said of Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy wicket.

Australia captain Steven Smith, who had named an unchanged XI from their opening win in Pune on the eve of this match, reiterated the importance of keeping the momentum up.

“India are going to come back hard, they are a quality side. We have to be at our best if we want to compete against them in this match and the rest of the series,” said Smith.

India: Lokesh Rahul, Abhinav Mukund, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav
Australia: David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Steven Smith (capt), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Steve O’Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.
Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Nigel Llong (ENG)
TV umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)
Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here