Cong’s Sunil Jakhar gains massive in Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll

Flag of Indian National Congress.

Gurdaspur: Ruling Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar was on Sunday leading by a huge margin of 1,08,230 votes over his nearest rival BJP contestant Swaran Salaria in the counting of votes for the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll, as per trends available.

Jakhar, who is leading in all nine assembly constituencies after the ninth round of the counting of votes, thanked voters and the party for the massive lead. Talking to reporters, State Cabinet Minister Navjot Singh Sidhu said, “We have sent a beautiful Diwali gift packed with red ribbon to our would-be President Rahul Gandhi because it sets the tone…It will be a shot in the arm for the Congress.”

“This (victory) is a big slap on the face of ‘jija -saala’ (SAD chief Sukhbir Badal and Bikram Singh Majithia). Today BJP will realise that Akali Dal in Punjab has become a burden. Time and again people have reprimanded them. It will be demoralising and send them (SAD-BJP) packing,” said Sidhu.

Two counting centres have been set up for the counting of votes.

For six assembly constituencies of Gurdaspur district, counting center has been set up at Sukhjindra College Gurdaspur and for three assembly constituencies of Pathankot district, counting centre has been set up at the SD College in Pathankot.

Tight security arrangements have been made at the counting centres, official said. 

The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat has nine Assembly segments — Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala. The result will decide the fate of total 11 candidates including Congress nominee Jakhar, BJP’s Salaria and AAP’s Khajuria.