4 JAKLI declared Best Marching Contingent


Hyderabad: The 4 Jammu & Kashmir Light Infantry (JAKLI) (47 Infantry Brigade) contingent led by Capt. Vinit Hoda was on Saturday declared the Best Marching Contingent at the Republic Day celebrations at Parade Grounds here.

The second place in the category went to the 6th Battalion of Telangana State Special Police led by Reserve Inspector P Srinivas.

In the junior category, Telangana State Social Welfare Residential Educational Institutions Society marching contingent led by Master M Vignesh was declared the winner while the NCC Boys contingent led by Senior Under Officer
Mohammad Feroz was declared the runner.

Appreciation trophies were also presented to the Tamil Nadu Special Police contingent led by Inspector V Suresh Kumar and Netra Vidyala contingent led by Y Anjamma.

Air Vice Marshal SK Jha, Commandant, College of Air Warfare (CAW), Secunderabad, held the overall command and control of the ceremonial parade while Wing Commander SV Sreenivas, Officer Commanding (Unit), CAW, was the chief coordinating officer of the parade.

The parade commander was Group Captain Rajvesh Varma VM from CAW while the second in command for the parade was Wing Commander Nitin Sharma from Air Force Station (AFS), Begumpet. The parade adjutant was Squadron Leader KL Augustine from CAW while the commentary coordinator responsibilities were handled by Squadron Leader G Saveen Reddy from AFS.

A total of 13 contingents took part in the parade. They were the 16 Dogra Regiment (76 Infantry Brigade), 4 JAKLI, Indian Air Force, 6th Battalion TSSP, City Armed Reserved Police, TN Special Police, NCC Boys, NCC Girls, Bharat Scouts & Guides, TSWREIS, Netra Vidyalaya and TS Mounted Police and NCC 1 (T) R&V Regiment.

Three brass bands – CAR Headquarters, SAR CPL and Bharat Scouts and Guides — from the city took part in the march past along with pipe bands from 16th Bn The Dogra Regiment, 5/8 Gurkha Rifles (47 Inf Brigade), 19th Rajput and 12th Bn of TSSP.